"Do not let others decide what you want to be..  Be what you feel you want to be" Enquiry Form!

What is Civil Services?

Demo Thumb

Civil Services Popularily Known As The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) (Hindi: भारतीय प्रशासनिक सेवा). IAS officers hold key positions in the Union Government, State governments and Public Sector Undertakings. The Constituent Assembly of India intended that the bureaucracy should be able to speak freely, without fear of persecution or financial insecurity as an essential element in unifying the nation.

The IAS,IFS,IPS & IRS etc. officers are recruited by the Union government on the recommendation of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and posted under various State governments. The officers carry high respect and stature in the society coupled with the significant task of administering public offices, making it one of the most desirable jobs in India. While the respective State Governments have control over them they cannot censure or take disciplinary action against IAS and other All India Services officers without consulting the Union Government and the UPSC.

The examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. It has three stages (Preliminary, Mains and Interview)

Eligibility :

Existing No. of Attempts Categories
unreserved SC/ST OBC P.H.
04 unlimited 07 07 for general/OBC unlimited for SC/ST
Existing Maximum Age Limits 30 years 35 years 33 years 40 years
Consequential No. of attempts 06 (4+2) unlimited 09 (7+2) 09 for general/OBC unlimited for SC/ST
Consequential maximum age Limits 32 years (30+2) 37 years (35+2) 35 years (33+2) 12 additional years in each category (30+12 for General, 35+12 for SC/ST & 33+12 years for OBC)